top of page

There's A Kid Behind That Mask


Earlier this week, the Comets posted pictures of Zack and Jonah Gadjovich visiting a minor hockey team. When I zoomed in and saw the smiles on their faces behind their masks, it made me reflect on the joy that every hockey player must have when they are doing what they love. But then it also made me think about reading that one day last season, I read where a player stated that he had deleted social media because of the negative messages he was receiving from "fans". This brought me back to many times being at the rink listening to parents and fans "cheering" for their kids. However, in many cases I wouldn't call it cheering. I would hear things like, "Get up your not hurt, stop faking", "Get him, he deserves it", "Pass the puck!", "Get off the ice, plug!" "Pass the XXXXing puck". This "cheering" was also carried into the dressing room where I would hear, "What were you doing out there?", "Why am I wasting my money, you need to do better!", "You have his number, you'll get him next time!" Now don't get me wrong, there was also many positive comments and cheers happening also, but many times through the years, I often thought that we as parents and fans of the game, sometimes tend to forget that those players out on the ice are little humans who eventually turn into bigger humans that are trying their best every single time they step on the ice. Perhaps some days their best is better than on other days, but don't we all have bad days at whatever it is we are doing?

I have never in my life heard of a hockey player who went out on the ice to intentionally lose a hockey game. I once saw a poll on social media where someone polled the team's fan base and asked if the players on their favorite team had given up on the remainder of the season? I think that's an absurd question. No hockey player or professional athlete for that matter, ever "gives up". These guys are proud individuals who respect the game and they know the effort, commitment and sacrifices that it took for them get where they are. So, do we really think they would ever disrespect the sport that they love and dedicated their whole lives to, and give up? I don't think so.

There is a lot negativity posted online these days. Yes, I know that I am a biased hockey mom with a bleeding heart and that hockey is a form entertainment, and these guys get paid to do what they love and people have a right to their opinions, I get all of that. But I often wonder if it was their son, brother, husband or even themselves, would they be so quick to judge every aspect of their play and continuously harp on the negative? I realize that it is part of the entertainment factor to provide commentary on your favourite team, but I also know if I watched something that gave me that much angst, I think I would have to find a new hobby.

I have come across a number of passionate hockey fans over the years. I have also gotten pretty passionate myself at times (I am a true Canadian Hockey Mom afterall!). Many times I've thought, how could he not make that pass or put that puck in the open net, or stop that easy save but in the end I would still come back to the fact that as long as these guys are trying their hardest and doing their best who am I to judge them. I know I wouldn't want someone constantly judging how I do my job every day!

So the next time we are at the rink cheering on our favourite players, perhaps we can remember that their is a kid behind that mask who is having fun doing what he/she loves and in the end, isn't that all that really matters?

bottom of page