top of page

I Can't Wait to Play in the NHL So I Can Play At Night!


Zack and I in our hotel room at one of his very first Hockey Tournaments

All of you hockey parents know what it’s like heading to those early morning hockey practices, right? Well our family was no different. Zack was definitely not a morning person growing up. Getting up at 5:00 am was certainly not something any of us liked and all I can say is thank goodness it was for hockey because that would be the only reason we would be able to get him out of bed at that hour. Early mornings, rushing home from work…sometimes sneaking out a few minutes early, asking his grandfather to take him if we couldn’t make it happen, were all things that we had to do to make sure there was never an ice time that was missed - because that would just be devastating!

I also remember the many tournaments we played in. If you’re a hockey parent you also know that the younger the kids are, the earlier in the day that they play. This was never ideal in Zack’s mind because he couldn’t understand why his team always had to play so early. He would say to us as he was rolling himself out of bed, “I can’t wait to play in the NHL so I can play at night!” Well if that’s not motivation, I don’t know what is!

Zack didn’t get his dislike for early mornings by accident though. I was reminded this past week-end by a fellow hockey mom of a time when the boys were about 8 or 9 and we were in a tournament in Saint John, New Brunswick. Our team always had lots of fun on these tournaments and with all the fun, sometimes came staying up too late. Well, it was Sunday morning after a big Saturday of hockey, mini sticks in the hallway, a few beverages (for the parents that is) and staying up way too late (also the parents).

Anyway, we all got up while it was still dark outside and lumber down to the parking garage, headed to the Stewart Hurley Arena (Stu Hurley for short). We rush to get into the car, with only time for a few sips of coffee at this point, as we are running a little late. Zack is getting a little anxious in the back seat because he hated being late, especially on game days. While I am fumbling, again it's still dark, with my phone to try and google the address to the rink, Craig says to me, “What’s the name of this rink again?” I mumbled back to him, “Stu Hurley.” I guess I must have been like no other Canadian ever and didn't pronounce my "H" very clearly, because in a somewhat frustrated response back, he said, "I know what time it is Julie, but what's the name of the rink." Again, I say, "Stu Hurley!" and Craig impatiently says, “I know it’s too early, but what’s the name of the rink?!?!” All three of us then looked at each other and just started laughing! And that my friends sums it up for us with regards to our love/hate relationship with hockey and early mornings. Thanks, Heidi for the nice reminder!

bottom of page